March 1, 2007

New album from Stars – remixed & reimagined by their friends

As previously mentioned, there’s an interesting new concept album from Canadian band Stars due to be released May 22 on Arts & Crafts. It involves friends of the band having control to completely reimagine a song from Stars in a new way. Do You Trust Your Friends? is a “song for song renovation” of Stars’ excellent 2004 album, Set Yourself on Fire (which I loved — see previous post). Full tracklist:

1. Your Ex-Lover Is Dead ♦ Final Fantasy
2. Set Yourself On Fire ♦ Montag
3. Ageless Beauty ♦ The Most Serene Republic
4. Reunion ♦ Jason Collett
5. The Big Fight ♦ Minotaur Shock
6. What I’m Trying To Say Pt. 1 ♦ The Dears
7. What I’m Trying To Say Pt. 2 ♦ The Dears
8. One More Night ♦ Apostle of Hustle
9. Sleep Tonight ♦ Junior Boys (on their MySpace)
10. The First Five Times ♦ The Russian Futurists
11. He Lied About Death ♦ Metric
12. Celebration Guns ♦ Camouflage Nights with Kevin Drew
13. Soft Revolution ♦ The Stills
14. Calendar Girl ♦ Young Galaxy

Stars are currently at the Warehouse Studio in Vancouver recording their next album. It will be released this coming fall.

Tagged with .

1 Comment

  • They can definitely trust TMSR. The remix of the first five times was a bit too weird for me. curious to hear what sort of remix Jason Collett did.

    Can’t wait for their new album!

    arrested development fan — March 2, 2007 @ 2:36 am

Comments RSS

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Subscribe to this tasty feed.
I tweet things. It's amazing.

Bio Pic Name: Heather Browne
Location: Colorado, originally by way of California
Giving context to the torrent since 2005.

"I love the relationship that anyone has with music: because there's something in us that is beyond the reach of words, something that eludes and defies our best attempts to spit it out. It's the best part of us, probably, the richest and strangest part..."
—Nick Hornby, Songbook
"Music has always been a matter of energy to me, a question of Fuel. Sentimental people call it Inspiration, but what they really mean is Fuel."
—Hunter S. Thompson

Mp3s are for sampling purposes, kinda like when they give you the cheese cube at Costco, knowing that you'll often go home with having bought the whole 7 lb. spiced Brie log. They are left up for a limited time. If you LIKE the music, go and support these artists, buy their schwag, go to their concerts, purchase their CDs/records and tell all your friends. Rock on.

View all Interviews → View all Shows I've Seen →