September 28, 2006

M. Ward: Scene From #12 EP

Now THIS makes me feel nice and happy today. As you may recall, I’ve fallen hopelessly in love with M. Ward‘s latest release, Post-War, and have been on a spirited jaunt to seek out his earlier material. I love the warmth of his songs and the way so many of them just envelop you with a sense of immediacy.

One of his earliest solo releases, the Scene From #12 EP (2000, 62 TV Records) is currently not commercially available, but it’s a seamless little collection of four songs that make me contentedly smile. I think you’ll be happy if you enjoy these along with me today:

01. Scene From #12
02. Wild Minds
03. Carolina
04. Going Away

SCENE FROM #12 EP AS ZIP FILE (re-upped June 2010, by request)

Buy Post-War if you haven’t already.

Tagged with .


  • You have made my day, maybe even my week. I’m always scouring for more M. Ward, like “Duet For Guitars #2″, but alas it is a much too expensive import.

    David — September 28, 2006 @ 10:47 am

  • Heather, if you don’t have his last one “Transistor Radio” yet , you need to pick it up.
    I actually like it better than “Post War” . The cover of the Beach Boys “You Still Believe in Me” that kicks it off is especially cool.

    -tom — September 28, 2006 @ 10:58 am

  • At 1:15 today (Pacific Time) Matt will be playing on KCRW.

    the pilot is lost — September 28, 2006 @ 11:30 am

  • Hooray! Thanks.

    heather — September 28, 2006 @ 11:31 am

  • that would be 11:15am (pdt) that matt will be on kcrw…don’t miss it!

    heather, do you happen to have the songs “waiting years vol. 1″ and “waiting years vol. 2″? i forked over my $40 to buy the duet for guitars #2 import, only to discover that there are two versions of it, and the one that i did not get has those two songs…

    and thanks!–i’ve been looking for “going away” for some time now

    tad — September 28, 2006 @ 11:36 am

  • oops. shame on me

    the pilot is lost — September 28, 2006 @ 12:44 pm

  • while i’d disagree w/ Tom a bit, in that Transistor Radio, while good, isn’t QUITE as good as this new one, but i will say that Transfiguration of Vincent is easily his best record.

    End of Amnesia is great too, Matt can do no wrong really.

    solace — September 28, 2006 @ 2:25 pm

  • Post-War is still the best record of the entire year, hands down.

    Look forward to hearing these, too!


    Chad — September 28, 2006 @ 3:08 pm

  • These are great songs.Listening to him sing feels like waking up on a Saturday morning.Thanks for posting;I really enjoyed these songs.He can make the heart sing again.

    Russell — September 28, 2006 @ 5:52 pm

  • post-war es bueno.

    have you ever heard him interviewed? the holmes sounds like he smokes the ganj twice an hour. nooge.

    Satisfied '75 — September 28, 2006 @ 9:00 pm

  • Thanks Heather. Glad to own more rare M. Ward. I own a copy of the cardboard domestic release(co-dependent) of “Duet…” Had no idea it was out of print. It does not include the tracks Tad mentioned either. Are you sure they were ever released with/on “Duet…?

    My vote goes to “Transfiguration…” as his most rewarding disc. Though one could argue the case for “Post War”. My favorite track is still his Pete Townsend cover of “Let My Love Open The Door”.

    Kevin — September 28, 2006 @ 11:03 pm

  • Kevin, you must have the version that i have. it’s an australian import, i think, and has two songs that are not on the other version, which i think is a japanese import. those two songs are a previous version of “i’ll be yr bird” as well as “not a gang”. are those on the cd you have?

    tad — September 29, 2006 @ 11:12 am

  • I’m pretty sure this one is still commercially available from 62 TV

    adrian — September 29, 2006 @ 11:16 am

  • M.Ward – Duet For Guitars #2
    62 TV 29291 – 12 tracks LP on CD

    Duet For Guitars #2 – Beautiful Car – Fishing Boat Song – Scene From #12 – Good News – The Crooked Spine – Look Me Over – Who May Be Lazy – It Won’t Happen Twice – He Asked Me To Be A Snake & Live Underground – Song From Debby’s Stairs – It Was A Beautiful Car.

    This is the CD I still find sometimes in My local indie shops, along with his “End Of Amnesia” disc. I had never seen the EP Heather hosted. My version of “Duet…” is the 1999 self-release. Various overseas copies may have different track listing and/or extra track(s) as most of his releases are that way.

    Kevin — September 29, 2006 @ 1:39 pm

  • You should check out Toulouse Engelhardt who is another amazing guitarist in the same vein as M. Ward!

    Anonymous — September 30, 2006 @ 12:37 pm

  • This is fantastic stuff. Thanks so much for putting it up.

    Justin — September 30, 2006 @ 4:30 pm

  • Is there any way you could re-post this in a new link thanks — January 23, 2008 @ 2:58 pm

  • Wow! So glad you posted this. Thanks!

    Craig — June 5, 2012 @ 8:44 am

Comments RSS

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Subscribe to this tasty feed.
I tweet things. It's amazing.

Bio Pic Name: Heather Browne
Location: Colorado, originally by way of California
Giving context to the torrent since 2005.

"I love the relationship that anyone has with music: because there's something in us that is beyond the reach of words, something that eludes and defies our best attempts to spit it out. It's the best part of us, probably, the richest and strangest part..."
—Nick Hornby, Songbook
"Music has always been a matter of energy to me, a question of Fuel. Sentimental people call it Inspiration, but what they really mean is Fuel."
—Hunter S. Thompson

Mp3s are for sampling purposes, kinda like when they give you the cheese cube at Costco, knowing that you'll often go home with having bought the whole 7 lb. spiced Brie log. They are left up for a limited time. If you LIKE the music, go and support these artists, buy their schwag, go to their concerts, purchase their CDs/records and tell all your friends. Rock on.

View all Interviews → View all Shows I've Seen →